

Contact: ECA Press



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Date: April 6, 2016 Telephone: 202-632-6445

Dr. Eldonna L. May Receives Fulbright Award

Eldonna L. May of **Wayne State University** has been offered a Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program grant to Botswana in Musicology and Online Learning the United States Department of State and the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board announced recently.

Dr. May is one of over 1,200 U.S. citizens who will travel abroad for the 2016-2017 academic year through the Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program. Recipients of Fulbright grants are selected on the basis of academic and professional achievement.

The Fulbright Program is the flagship international educational exchange program sponsored by the U.S. government and is designed to increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries. The primary source of funding for the Fulbright Program is an annual appropriation made by the U.S. Congress to the U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. Participating governments and host institutions, corporations and foundations in foreign countries and in the United States also provide direct and indirect support. Recipients of Fulbright grants are selected on the basis of academic or professional achievement, as well as demonstrated leadership in their fields. The Program operates in over 160 countries worldwide.

Since its establishment in 1946 under legislation introduced by the late U.S. Senator J. William Fulbright of Arkansas, the Fulbright Program has given approximately 360,000 students, scholars, teachers, artists, and scientists the opportunity to study, teach and conduct research, exchange ideas and contribute to finding solutions to shared international concerns.

Fulbright alumni have achieved distinction in government, science, the arts, business, philanthropy, education, and many other fields. Fifty-three Fulbright alumni from 12 countries have been awarded the Nobel Prize, and 82 alumni have received Pulitzer Prizes. Prominent Fulbright alumni include: **Muhammad Yunus**, founder, Grameen Bank, and 2006 Nobel Peace Prize recipient; **Juan Manuel Santos**, President of Colombia; **John Hope Franklin**, noted American historian and Presidential Medal of Freedom recipient; **Riccardo Giacconi**, physicist and 2002 Nobel Laureate; **Amar Gopal Bose**, founder, Bose Corporation; **Renée Fleming**, soprano; **Jonathan Franzen**, writer; and **Daniel Libeskind**, architect.

Fulbright recipients are among over 50,000 individuals participating in U.S. Department of State exchange programs each year. The Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program is administered by the Council for International Exchange of Scholars.

For further information about the Fulbright Program or the U.S. Department of State's Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, please visit our website at http://eca.state.gov/fulbright or contact ECA Press, telephone 202-632-6445 or e-mail ECA-Press@state.gov.